Permanent Account Number (PAN)

I think that my readers are very familiar with this term. Under the Income Tax Act

every assessee is liable to get PAN before he files his tax return  in the department.

 PAN is a unique 10 digit number which is issued by the income tax office to the

person applying for it. Every digit in a PAN signifies a meaning in itself.

 

To know about the need of PAN and its importance click on the below link

http://www.incometaxindia.gov.in/PAN/Overview.asp

 

This contains a series of FAQ’s on PAN which is issued by the Income Tax

Department.

 

Hope it will be useful to you.

3 Responses to “Permanent Account Number (PAN)”

  1. divya seth Says:

    As i was reading in the website, that every digit in the PAN has a meaning to itself. I am a student of chartered accountancy but this information is absolutely new to me and its good that i came across this site and got to know this.
    Can you please tell me what are the individual meanings assigned to each of the digits? I would be highly grateful if this information can be sent to me.
    Thanking You,
    Divya Seth

  2. GAURAV GOYAL Says:

    i am reading in the website, that every digit in the PAN has a meaning to itself. I am a student of chartered accountancy. I know that every digit carries a meaning but couldnt come to know about the exact meanings except 4th and 5th digit.
    Can you please tell me what are the individual meanings assigned to each of the digits except 4th and 5th digit? I would be highly grateful if this information can be sent to me.
    Thanking You,
    Gaurav Goyal

  3. NEERAJ KUMAR Says:

    Thanks for aforesaid details. Please tell me the meaning of every digit assigned to it except four and fifth digit

    with thanks
    Neeraj Kumar

Leave a Reply

